Week 2 – Fattah

For the first week of cooking and baking, I made Fattah! Fattah consists of yogurt, herbed chickpeas, layers of pita bread, and often topped off with toasted nuts.

Got some chickpeas.

Then, I put the bread and chick peas into a bowl.

To make the Fattah yogurt, I added yogurt, salt, lemon, a clove of garlic, and tahini.

I put the yogurt on top of the bread and chick peas.

I was surprised by how easy and straightforward this was. I loved the crunch of the bread, and the taste of everything put together. Very flavourful and delicious! It’s for sure my favourite way to break my fast after some water and a date.

For the next few weeks, I want to continue making foods I am familiar with since I’m fasting and want to be disappointed after a long day. Even though these foods are familiar and I have had them before, I still haven’t tried to make them myself. Ramadan is coming to an end though, and an idea has been circulating in my head but isn’t complete yet. I know that I want to add to what I’m currently doing to truly feel like I have succeeded. I will have an update post soon once I have a complete idea.

See you next week!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *