Project #2 – Plan

After thinking long and hard, trying to choose between Henna and Improving my basketball skills. I have decided to do basketball because it’s what I enjoy doing most during my free time. One of my biggest goals for the near future is to make the senior girls basketball team next year. I was really close this year, but I got cut near one of the last tryouts. I did make the junior basketball team though! I have made lots of progress, and played very well in my games, so I definitely won’t be stopping here.

My plan for this Genius Hour is to improve my accuracy, gain more speed, learn new skills, and become the best player I can be in the next 3 months. I have talked to my parents and they have agreed to help record and take me to a rec centre to practice every week. Once it warms up, I can go outside and play on an outdoor hoop. I’m really hoping there will be nicer weather in the next month. Throughout this project, I want to record videos of my progress almost every week. I think videos are a great and entertaining way to showcase my learning .

Every week, I am planning to start my practice with some simple drills and then go up from there. After a good warm up, I will then be working on specific skills every week following some videos. After taking away all the knowledge I need from videos, I can then practice on my own knowing many different techniques, skills, and drills. Shift happens, so I will be ready to slightly change my goal when I need to and keep it in control.

I am so excited to get started on this project! I know I will be putting in lots of hard work into this, and I can’t wait to see all the progress I will make at the end!

Basketball hoop

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *