Week 11 – Shawarma

For this week’s genius hour, I made shawarma! Shawarma is a popular Middle Eastern food that is made from marinated meat, such as lamb, beef, and chicken. Let me show you how it’s done!

To begin, I cut the chicken.

Subsequently, I added tomato sauce, salt, shawarma spices, black pepper, olive oil, onion powder, and garlic powder to the chicken.

The shawarma was all cooked! I used pita bread which is the most famous of the Arab bread; and laid the shawarma on top with ketchup and mayonnaise. Which now that I look back at that… I kind of regret it choosing those toppings instead of something more interesting.

This is the final result! The chicken was very flavorful because of all the spices added to it in the beginning. I did a great job with correctly flowing the steps to the recipe, but I would definitely like to try this with the many endless toppings to chose from, such as yogurt sauce, hummus, pickles, lettuce, tomato, and a squirt of lemon sounds nice!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *