Week 3 – Brownies

This week I made https://tasty.co/recipe/the-best-fudgy-brownies brownies. As it was recommended to me by many people as it being, “The best brownie recipe I have ever tried.”

I followed the exact recipe except I added chocolate chips instead of the chocolate chunks they used in the video, which shouldn’t affect the end results negatively or even at all.

I mixed all the ingredients together just the way the recipe tells me to. Then put it in the oven to bake for 20-25 minutes. Soo.. here’s when it all starts to go wrong. On the recipe, it said, “Bake 350°F/180°C” I wasn’t sure if the oven was in Celsius or Fahrenheit, so I decided to go with 350°F since that was the temperature the oven was on for most of the time. 25 minutes had gone by and the brownies were still wet. Maybe that was because they were “Fudgy Brownies?” Or the temperature wasn’t high enough.

I left the brownies in the oven to cool down overnight. Big mistake.

These were the end results! Judging based on looks, these were great! But didn’t taste as good as I wanted them to. They were not very chewy but hard. I can infer that this is because I had left it overnight in the oven. I didn’t realize until I took it out of the oven the next morning, but the edges are kind of burnt. Maybe the temperature was too high? And it was not supposed to be fully baked for it to be “fudgy.” I did however like the crusty texture of the brownies.

Next time I will:

  • Make sure to use the information I have learned in this experiment for better results
  • Make sure I put the oven on the temperature it’s supposed to be
  • Make sure to not extend the time the brownies are supposed to be in the oven for
  • Make sure to not leave it in the oven overnight

This was a lot harder than I expected it to be. I wouldn’t call this a success but I did learn a lot from it. I will definitely be trying to make brownies again with much better results next time!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *