Week 5 – Kladdkaka (Sweden)

This week I’m going to be starting with Sweden and making their national dish, Kladdkaka! Kladdkaka is very similar to a brownie. The main difference is that there is more sugar and no baking powder, making it dense and a bit sticky. This was the recipe I used: https://tasty.co/recipe/swedish-sticky-chocolate-cake-kladdkaka

This was the process:

Although I was expecting something I haven’t tried before with a whole new flavour, this was still very tasty and sweet! I loved how soft and light it felt in my mouth. It tasted nearly the exact same as a brownie but the powdered sugar, the chewy, soft bottom and the slightly harder top layer made a little difference. I was surprised by the large amount of sugar used and the fact that there was no baking powder to add volume to the cake. I also realized that my oven was in Fahrenheit while making this because when I turned the oven on at 180° for 20 minutes it was still the same as when I first put it in. If I were to make this a second time, I would top it off with strawberries or raspberries because that is what Kladdkaka is usually topped with. Overall, I rate this a 6/10.

I can’t wait to try another country’s national dessert next week. See you then!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *